Photo by Ryan Tang on Unsplash

Stop dwelling on your regrets, fix them. Here’s how.

“You’re not living if you’re not regretting.” — Nicola Yoon

Daphne Nguyen
5 min readOct 13, 2020

--

As humans, we experience many emotions throughout our lifetime. There are some that I would prefer to go through than others. But without fail, the one that impacts me the most has always been regret. I am not talking about the regrets that can be easily and quickly fixed, I am talking about those that keep you thinking for weeks, months, and even years.

In the 25 years of my existence, I have accumulated quite a good number of regrets. This span all the way from education, career, relationship, parents, etc. Therefore, as an attempt to not carry these with me to the grave, I am taking steps to repair what’s been done and prevent future screw-ups.

Identify what caused your regrets

Many of us want to be forward-looking individuals. But that does not mean we should ignore our past. There is a reason why problem solvers are so obsessed with root cause analysis. Understanding where our regrets originated from is a good place to start.

As I wrote down all the regrets I feel at the moment, I realize they fall into either of these categories:

  • I wish I did not do what I did.

--

--

Daphne Nguyen

A 20-something-year-old learning her way through life. I enjoy learning about adulting, though will occasionally complain about it.